Entertainment News

International Emmys 2021: No Wins For Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Vir Das Or Sushmita Sen-led Aarya

‘Masked Singer’, ‘Tehran’, ‘Call My Agent!’ among winners – Check out the complete list

Nawazuddin SiddiquiNawazuddin Siddiqui | OyeYeah News

International Emmys 2021 awards were held last night hosted by Actress and comedian Yvonne Orji at the Great Hall of Casa Cipriani in Manhattan, New York.

“We are delighted to be able to gather the global television community, in-person again, in New York to celebrate the world’s best television,” said International Academy President & CEO Bruce Paisner.

“The diversity and geographic spread of tonight’s winners demonstrate once again the universal power of great storytelling and performances.”

There was no win for the Indian nominations at this year’s International Emmys!

Nawazuddin Siddiqui will return home from the International Emmy Awards empty-handed – he was nominated for Best Actor for his performance in Serious Men.

The Emmy award went to Scottish actor David Tennant for Des.

Nawazuddin Siddiqui had become a Twitter trending topic since the awards were announced.

Furthermore, there was also no-win for the Sushmita Sen-led Aarya, which lost Best Drama to the Israeli production Tehran,

And another Indian Vir Das’ comedy special had lost Best Comedy to hit French show Call My Agent!

While Norway’s Atlantic Crossing won the Emmy for TV Movie/Miniseries.

While Thailand’s Hope Frozen: A Quest to Live Twice won for Documentary, becoming the country’s first International Emmy.


Here are the winners at the 2021 International Emmys:

Arts Programming

Kubrick By Kubrick
Temps Noir / Telemark / Arte France
Producers: Martin Laurent, Jérémy Zelnik, Maciej Kubicki, Anna Kepinska
Director: Gregory Monro

Best Performance by an Actress

Hayley Squires in Adult Material
Fifty Fathoms Productions
United Kingdom

Short-Form Series

Luminous Beast
New Zealand
Producers: Peter Salmon, Liz DiFiore
Director: Peter Salmon
Writers: Dan Musgrove, Shoshana McCallum, Thomas Sainsbury, Kura Forrester, Nic Sampson
Principal Cast: Morgana O’Reilly, Josh Thomson, Sam Snedden

Non-English Language U.S. Primetime Program

21st Annual Latin Grammy Awards
Univision Network / The Latin Recording Academy
United States
Executive Producers: Jose Tillan, Charlie Singer, Ignacio Meyer, Raj Kapoor, Ulises Chang
Producer: Terry Lickona
Director: Marcelo Gama
Writers : Cesar Muñoz, Manuel Alvarez, Sandra Aragon, Sergio Jablon
Principal Cast : Ana Brenda Contreras, Victor Manuelle, Yalitza Aparicio


Hope Frozen: A Quest to Live Twice
2050 Productions / Netflix
Executive Producer: Amanda Feldon
Producer: Pailin Wedel
Director: Pailin Wedel
Writers: Pailin Wedel, Nina Ijas

Non-Scripted Entertainment

The Masked Singer
Bandicoot Scotland / ITV
United Kingdom
Executive Producers: Claire Horton, Derek McLean, Daniel Nettleton
Producer: Marc Bassett
Director: Simon Staffurth
Writers: Les Keen, Aiden Spackman
Principal Cast: Joel Dommett, Ken Jeong, Davina McCall, Rita Ora, Jonathan Ross

TV Movie/Mini-Series

Atlantic Crossing
Cinenord / Beta Film / PBS / SVT/ DR / Nevision / NRK
Executive Producers: Tone Rønning, Justus Riesenkampff, Friedemann Goez, Alexander Eik, Susanne Simpson, Anni Faurbye Fernandez, Sofia Helin, James Cabourne, Sofie Wanting Hassing
Producer: Silje Hopland Eik
Director: Alexander Eik
Writers: Linda May Kallestein, Alexander Eik
Principal Cast: Sofia Helin, Kyle MacLachlan, Tobias Santelmann, Søren Pilmark, Harriet Sansom Harris, Lucy Russel, Daniel Betts

Best Performance by an Actor

David Tennant in Des
New Pictures / ITV
United Kingdom


The Song of Glory
China Huace Film & TV Co., Ltd / Croton Cultural Media Co., Ltd / Croton Entertainment Co., Ltd / Shanghai Tencent Penguin Film / Culture Communication Co., Ltd / Jolly Orange Studio
PR China
Executive Producers: Xingchen Huang, Ni Xue
Producer: Ying Wang
Director: Wei Chu Lee
Writer: Mengzhang Wu
Principal Cast: Qin Li, Hao Qin


Call My Agent! – Season 4
Mon Voisin Productions / Mother Productions / France Télévision / Netflix
Producers : Dominique Besnehard, Michel Feller, Harold Valentin, Aurélien Larger
Directors : Marc Fitoussi, Antoine Garceau
Writers: Fanny Herrero (Created by), Victor Reodenbach (Head Writer)

Drama Series

Donna and Shula Productions / Paper Plane Productions
Executive Producers: Dana Eden, Shula Spiegel, Alon Aranya, Julien Leroux, Peter Emerson, Moshe Zonder, Eldad Koblenz, Dimitris Michalakis
Director: Daniel Syrkin
Writers: Moshe Zonder, Omri Shenhar
Principal Cast: Niv Sultan, Shaun Toub, Navid Negahban, Shervin Alenabi, Menashe Noy, Liraz Charhi

the authorNewsDesk