Nutella, the world-famous chocolate spread maker in a recent social media interaction has said that its products are not Halal!
When a user on Twitter asked the brand whether its products are halal. “No, they are not halal,” Nutella’s official Twitter handle responded.
No, they are not halal.— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 13, 2020
However, the reply from Nutella met with the refusal of several Muslim consumers. Many took to social media reasoning that as being fit for a vegetarian’s consumption it is okay for Muslims to eat it, as rules do not allow the company to declare it as a Halal product.
Nutella is absolutely halal, given that halal means "permissible," & there's nothing forbidden in the listed contents; it's just not halal certified. Nutella is still ok, promise.— Will Probably Die By Petting A Bear (@tsohgcinam) September 14, 2020
Nutella is suitable for vegetarians, however they can't officially declare it "Halal Certified" due to regulations and laws that prevents them more doing so. However, for future references for Fatwas please don't ask these companies opinions and refer to your local iman/scholar.— The Professor👨🏿🏫 (@ThePhenomenal66) September 14, 2020
Y’all, it’s fine. It may not be certified halal but it’s halal by definition. Just check the ingredients bc it could be different elsewhere. pic.twitter.com/Gh2RD8czcz— 𝔑𝔞𝔣𝔣𝔶 🖤🍒 (@nafology_) September 14, 2020
Ding dong you are wrong pic.twitter.com/chqWqi82oP— Dakota N. Weulf (@dakotaweulf) September 14, 2020
Nutella is a brand of sweetened hazelnut cocoa spread. Nutella is manufactured by the Italian company Ferrero and was first introduced in 1964, although its first iteration dates to 1963.
However, for Muslims, it is advised to thoroughly check the contents of any edible product before consuming it to find out whether it falls in the Halal category or not.