Latest News

Barrister Gohar Khan elected new PTI chairman unopposed

Barrister Gohar Khan has been elected the new Pakistan Tehreek e Insaaf (PTI) chairman unopposed.

PTI’s Chief Election Commissioner Niazullah Niazi announced the results on Saturday following the intra-party election.

Niazi announced Omer Ayub Khan was elected as the party Secretary-General — unopposed.

Furthermore, Munir Ahmed Baloch was elected as the party president of Balochistan; Haleem Adil Sheikh of Sindh; Ali Amin Gandapur of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Dr Yasmin Rashid as the party’s Punjab president.

Barrister Gohar Ali Khan, who was nominated by Imran Khan for the top slot a couple of days ago, said he will keep fulfilling this responsibility as Imran’s representative as he spoke to the press in Peshawar after he was elected chairman.

He said that Pakistan has 175 political parties, all of which have been providing details of their intra-party polls to the ECP since 1960. “However, none of these polls have been scrutinised as closely as those of the PTI.”

“People are seeing this and will block the oppression,” he said. “We have to take the country forward.”

He further added that PTI’s purpose is to struggle and that Imran Khan is in jail because of his efforts.

“When elections take place, we will defeat everyone,” Gohar Khan added.




Saman Siddiqui

Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button