Categories: Latest News

FIR finally lodged against gun attack on Imran Khan in Wazirabad

The FIR has been lodged at the City Police Station in Wazirabad with sub-inspector Aamir Shahzad as the complainant.

FIR finally has been lodged against the gun attack on PTI Chairman Imran Khan in Wazirabad by Punjab police.

  • The provincial police finally registered the case under terrorism charges on Monday, with detained suspect Naveed being nominated as the prime accused.
  • While the senior govt and military officials were not nominated in the case despite PTI’s insistence.
  • The development comes after the supreme court issued a warning that it would take suo motu proceedings if the Punjab police failed to register an FIR regarding the assassination attempt on Imran Khan.

As reported, an FIR was registered after IGP Faisal Shahkar in line with the directives of the SC ordered the Gujrat district police officer (DPO) to lodge the case so a copy of the FIR could be submitted to the apex court today.

He also conveyed to the DPO the decision of Chief Justice Umar Ata Bandial who had ordered him to register the case within 24 hours.

“The DPO had been conveyed to act as per law as per directions of the SC,” Mr. Shahkar said.

The FIR has been registered after four days after the attack carried out in Wazirabad under different sections, including attempt to murder and terrorism with sections 302, 324, 440, and Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act 1997 included. 

PTI leadership rejects the FIR

On the other hand, PTI leadership has rejected the FIR, terming it a “mockery of the law and the top court’s order.” 

PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry said that the FIR is nothing more than a piece of paper if it doesn’t name the three accused nominated by Imran Khan.

The PTI will only accept an FIR if the names of the three high officials are on it, he added. 

PTI leader Shireen Mazari in a tweet held the FIR as an “attempt at a complete cover-up by the three accused through the power of their positions and the state”.

Related Post

PTI leader Hammad Azhar, Former PTI MNA Maleeka Ali Bokhari, Farrukh Habib, Omar Ayub Khan, and others also rejected the FIR




Saman Siddiqui

Recent Posts

  • Latest News

Five-member SC bench takes up PTI plea on KP, Punjab polls

A five-member larger bench, headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Umar Ata Bandial, begins…

37 mins ago
  • Latest News

IHC grants Imran Khan interim bail in seven cases

The Islamabad High Court granted Pakitan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan interim bail in seven…

52 mins ago
  • Sports News

South Africa record highest successful run chase in T20Is against West Indies

South Africa recorded the highest successful run chase in T20Is against West Indies! South Africa…

17 hours ago
  • Latest News

Zardari undergoes surgery in Dubai, sources

PPP leader Asif Ali Zardari has been undergoing treatment in a hospital in Dubai for…

18 hours ago
  • Entertainment News

Ayesha Omar steps into 1971 era in upcoming film “Huey Tum Ajnabi”

Ayesha Omar will be seen stepping into the 1971 era in the upcoming film “Huey…

22 hours ago
  • Sports News

#PakvsAfg: Pakistan makes one change in playing IX for the second T20I

Pakistan has made one change in the playing XI against Afghanistan for the second T20I…

23 hours ago