Latest NewsSports News

ICC World Cup 2019 officially launched

The most celebrated start to a Cricket World Cup ever!


The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup has been officially launched. London’s iconic Mall played host to a spectacular Opening Party on the eve of the event.

The much anticipated event of the cricket world will formally kick off tomorrow, as the host England will be playing their opening match against South Africa at The Oval in London.

The opening party was hosted by former England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff and Shibani Dandekar.
The event started with the introduction of captains of all 10 participating teams, followed by 60-second challenge.

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Malala Yousafzai represented Pakistan along with Pakistani cricketer Azhar Ali in 60 second challenge.  Though, the 60-sec challenge was won by the hosts England by scoring 74 runs.

After the challenge, the World Cup trophy was showcased. Former World Cup-winning captain Michael Clarke and former English off-spinner Graeme Swann escorted the trophy to the stage.

The event ended with the ICC World Cup 2019 theme song “Stand by”. It was performed by LORYN and Rudimental.

Steve Elworthy, Managing Director at ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, said: “The Opening Party will capture the very essence of what makes this tournament so special and will be hugely exciting for the fans that are lucky enough to attend but also across broadcast we will show the world what they have to look forward to over the next 45 days of cricket action.

“The Mall, with Buckingham Palace in the background, is synonymous with some of the biggest events held in the UK and is instantly recognizable to everyone around the globe. It will be a fitting celebration of a World Cup, cricket and sport with diversity at its core.”

Earlier, captains of all ten participating teams in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 called on the British Queen Elizabeth II at the Buckingham Palace on Wednesday.

Queen Elizabeth II joined the captains of the teams taking part in the ICC Cricket World Cup for a photograph in the 1844 Room at Buckingham Palace in London, ahead of the competition’s Opening Party on the Mall.

The captains included Gulbadin Naib (Afghanistan), Aaron Finch (Australia), Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh), Eoin Morgan (England), Virat Kohli (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka) and Jason Holder (West Indies).

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Leave a Reply