Latest News

Naeem Bokhari to be appointed as Chairman PTV, reports

The federal government is likely to appoint lawyer Naeem Bukhari as the chairman of the Pakistan Television (PTV), it emerged on Tuesday.

As being reported, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has proposed that Bokhari should be nominated as the PTVC board chairman.

Wasim Raza and Asghar Nadeem Syed’s names have also been suggested in the cabinet quarterly summary.

According to sources, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has suggested the federal cabinet to keep the composition of the PTVC Board to eight members, with three independent members.

The ministry also forwarded a panel of nine candidates against the positions of three independent directors.

As being reported, Other candidates for independent members include Muhammad Ayaz Kalyar, Aamir Malik, Syed Waseem Raza, Syed Sajjad Hasan Jafri, and Arshad Hasan, Asghar Nadeem Syed, Faisal Qureshi, and Ayesha Tammy Haq.

The development comes after, the Islamabad High Court (IHC) in September 2020 declared the appointments of PTV Arshad Khan and independent members of the board of directors illegal while directing the government to fill the vacant slots in accordance with the law. 

Saman Siddiqui

Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

14 − fourteen =

Back to top button