Categories: Latest News

National Assembly set to vote on the no-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan on Sunday

National Assembly is all set to vote on the no-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan on Sunday, March 3!

Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, who presided over the National Assembly session, adjourned the session till 11:30 am on Sunday minutes after it began.

The crucial National Assembly session had resumed after a three-day recess on Thursday to debate the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

As being reported, in the 24-point agenda issued ahead of the session, the debate on the no-trust motion against the PM was fourth in order.

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) Babar Awan moved a motion to adjourn the session, at the start of the session so the assembly hall could be used for the Parliamentary Committee on National Security’s meeting that was scheduled to be held at 6 pm. 

However, the motion was rejected after voting. 

The deputy speaker opened the floor for questions.  The opposition members, one after the other, told the deputy speaker that they were not interested in seeking answers from the treasury benches and the deputy speaker should go for voting on the motion as their questions were taken up.

Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri terming the opposition’s attitude “non-serious” adjourned the session till Sunday.

According to the schedule issued on Wednesday by the NA Secretariat, the resolution submitted by Shehbaz Sharif, the PML-N president and Leader of the Opposition in NA, for a discussion on the no-trust motion against Premier Imran was on the list of agendas for the day.

“Through this resolution under clause (1) of Article 95 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, this House resolves that it has no confidence in the Prime Minister, Mr. Imran Khan, and consequently he should cease to hold office under clause (4),” the schedule stated.

Following the recent change in MQM-P and other MNAs’ shifts’ in loyalties, PTI is now left with 164 members in its favour, while 177 members are expected to vote against PM Imran Khan.


Saman Siddiqui

Recent Posts

  • Latest News

PTI’s Councillor candidate caught red handed during a robbery from Orangi Town Karachi

PTI's Councillor candidate for municipal elections in Karachi was caught red-handed during a robbery from…

18 mins ago
  • Drama Reviews

Mujhe pyaar Hua Tha Episode-16 Review: Will Maheer leave Saad for Areeb?

Ary Digital drama serial Mujhe Pyaar Hua Tha is one intense play whose saving gracing…

5 hours ago
  • Sports News

PSL 8: Qalandari Transcendence

Lahore Qalandars went back-to-back in the final of PSL 8, defeating Multan Sultans in a…

5 hours ago
  • Drama Reviews

Kuch Ankahi Episode-12 Review: Asfar offers Aliya a job at his office!

ARY Digital's Kuch Ankahi is a full-time winner with its brilliant script and mind-blowing performances.…

15 hours ago
  • Latest News

Mansoor Usman Awan appointed new Attorney General for Pakistan

Mansoor Usman Awan has been appointed Attorney General for Pakistan on Monday. President Arif Alvi…

17 hours ago
  • Latest News

Pakistani netizens discover Elon Musk’s doppelganger

Pakistani netizens have discovered Elon Musk's doppelganger! A person having an uncanny resemblance with Twitter's…

17 hours ago