Latest NewsLifestyle

Pakistan’s first ever Customer Choice Food Awards held in Karachi

Main highlight if the event was the Life Time Achievement Award given to late Zubaida Apa.

The APRA AwardsThe APRA Awards - Life Time Achievement Award 2019 - OyeYeah News

The APRA Awards, Pakistan’s first-ever Customer Choice Food Award were held on Monday, 9 December at Marriott Hotel in Karachi.

The event was organized by All Pakistan Restaurant Association with an aim to recognise and acknowledge special features of restaurants including food and service excellence, outstanding dining and delivery experiences.

Jury for the APRA Awards, one if its kind event, consisted of Chef Saadat, Chef Abdul Hadi, Sumera Hussain, Dr. Sadia Safdar.

The event was hosted by Ali Safina, and like any other showbiz occasion, awards night kicked off with red carpet event.

Main highlight if the event was the Life Time Achievement Award given to late Zubaida Apa, honouring her services for the Pakistani culinary world.

Here is the complete list of winners along with the nominated categories of the APRA Awards 2019:


Best Burger House of the Year
• Big Thick Burgerz
• Burger Lab
• Burger O Clock – Winner
• Moos N Cluck
• Oh My Gril
• The Sauce

Best Pakistani Restaurant of the Year
• Afridi Inn
• Hot n Spicy
• Kebabjees
• Khanji
• Lal Qila – Winner
• Nawab Dynasty
• Tau’s

Best Pan Asian Restaurant of the Year
• Bonsai
• Chop Chop Wok – Winner
• Cocochan
• Miyako
• Tao

Best Chinese Restaurant
• Bam-bou
• China Grill
• China Town
• ChopSoy
• Ginsoy – Winner
• Kowloon

Best Coffee Place of the Year
• Bella Vita
• Coffee Waghera – Winner
• Chatterbox
• Esquires
• Gloria Jeans
• Mocca
• New York Coffee

Best Chai Place of the Year
• Cafe Clifton
• Cafe Pyala
• Chai Master
• Chai Shai
• Chai Wala
• Chit Chat Shai
• Chotu Chaiwala – Winner

Best Pizza House Award
• Broadway – Winner
• California
• Pizza One
• New York Pizza
• Pizza Max
• Junaidi’s

Best Biryani Restaurant Award
• AA Food Centre
• Biryani Square
• Haji Akhter
• Jans Food
• Jeddah Biryani
• Student Biryani – Winner
• White Biryani


Best Buffet Restaurant of the Year
• Babujees by Port Grand
• Chaupal
• Lal Qila – Winner
• Rajdhani

Best Casual Dining Restaurant of the Year
• Bella Vita
• ChatterBox Deli
• Del Frio – Winner
• Sizzlerz
• Sobremesa
• Rosati

Food Legend Award
• China Town
• Ginsoy – Winner
• Hanifia
• Karachi Broast
• Pompei
• Student Biryani
• Waheed


Best Pocket-Friendly Restaurant of the Year
• Cool Inn
• Hot n Spicy
• Karachi Broast
• Kaybees – Winner
• Pizza 363
• Red Apple
• Waheed

New Entrant of the Year
• Daal Rice
• Fettucine
• Ginsoy Live
• Great Wall
• Sals
• Wall
• Yoshi’s – Winner

Best Innovation Dish Award
• Cafe Praha
• Cloud Naan
• Lush Crush
• Meat the Cheese – Winner
• Plan B
• Steak by CFU
• Thyme

Best Restaurant for Ambiance
• Chatterbox Cafe
• Cocochan
• Esquires Coffee
• Koel
• Rosati
• Sultan
• Thyme – Winner

Delivery On Time Award
• Broadway
• California Pizza
• Foods Inn
• McDonald’s – Winner
• Tooso
• White Biryani

Restaurant of the Year – Karachi
• Bonsai
• East End
• Kebabjees
• Koel
• Meat the Cheese
• McDonald’s – Winner
• SteakbyCFU

Special APRA Awards

Best Fine Dining Restaurant of the year: Okra

Food Veteran Award: Bar.B.Q Tonight

Best Customer Experience Award: Kolachi

Best Brand Turnaround Award: KFC

Best Industry Facilitator: Pepsi

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Leave a Reply