Latest News

Peshawar: 5 localities to be placed under smart lockdown

The smart lockdown will be imposed from 9 pm tonight.

Smart lockdown in 5 localitiesSmart lockdown in 5 localities in Peshawar

Authorities in Peshawar have decided to put five localities of the city under smart lockdown in a bid to control the spread of coronavirus.

The smart lockdown will be imposed from 9 pm tonight.

As being reported, the smart lockdown will be imposed in the areas including Faisal Colony, Hayatabad Phase 6, Faqeerabad, Zaryab Colony, Ejaz Abad.

Traffic from these areas will be closed during the smart lockdown.

However, grocery shops, medical stores, general stores, tandoors and emergency service stores will remain open.

According to the notification, only five people will be allowed to pray in congregation in mosques in these areas.

Government has strongly emphasized that legal action will be taken against those who violated the smart lockdown.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Tuesday has reported 472 new coronavirus cases and 19 fatalities.

This has taken the province’s tally of COVID infections to 161,853 and the death toll to 4,963.

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.