COVID-19 NewsLatest News

‘Smart lockdown’ likely to be imposed in three districts of Karachi

Amidst the rapid spread of coronavirus pandemic in Karachi, the authorities have decided to formulate a plan to impose smart lockdowns in several hotspots of the deadly infection in the country’s economic hub, a notification issued from the Karachi commissioner’s office said Tuesday.

As being reported, the East, West, and Korangi districts of Karachi have been included in the hotspots of coronavirus.

So far, Karachi has reported 1,854 cases of COVID-19 and 30 deaths during the past 24 hours, the Sindh health department stated.

Read More : Smart Lockdown extended in Balochistan till June 30

The areas which have increased the number of cases have been marked by the district authorities for the lockdown plan. The commissioner of Karachi, in consultation with the Sindh home department, will issue a notification regarding the imposition of smart lockdowns in these areas.

The areas identified as COVID-19 hotspots in  Karachi are the East, West, and Korangi districts.

District East

District East includes areas of Mohammad Ali Society, Bahadurabad Block-14, Essa Nagri, Gulshan-e-Jamal, Gulshan Iqbal blocks 13-D/1, 2, 7, 11, 14 and 15, Sachal Goth, Rabia City, Safoora, Askari-4, Rufi Lake Drive Inn, Gulistan-e-Jauhar Block-13, PECHS blocks 2, 6 and 11, Balti Mohalla, Martin Quarters, Fatima Jinnah Colony, Jamat Khana, Jahangir Road no 1 and 2, Teen Hatti, Soldier Bazar and Numaish areas.


District Korangi

The Korangi district includes the neighbourhoods of Nasir Colony, Qayyumabad, Allah Wala Town, P&T Colony, Makhdoom Bilawal, Awami Colony, 36-B Area, Moinabad, Kazimabad, Gulshan-e-Jami, Jaffar Bagh, Nashtar Square, Model Colony, Alfalah, Malir Halth, Millat Garden, Millat Town, CAA Colony, Cantt Bazar, Old Iqbalabad.


District West

The West district of Karachi holds Maymarabad and Songal areas in Manghopir, Islam Nagar, Saeedabad, Naiabadi, Muslim Mujahid Colony in Baldia Town, SITE’s Metroville, Frontier Colony and Banaras areas, Bhutta Village, Sultanabad, Keamari, Data Nagar and Mujahid Colony in Orangi Town, and Surjani Town sectors L-1, 5-C, 5-D, 4-B, 4-C and 7-A.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen − 4 =

Back to top button