Latest NewsSports News

Sri Lanka name full-strength squad for Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka have announced a full-strength side for the upcoming two-test tour of Pakistan. Dimuth Karunaratne returns as captain as do the former captains Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal. The 16-man squad will travel to Pakistan on the 8th of December.

Earlier in the year, as many as ten top Sri Lankan cricketers had opted not to tour Pakistan for the white-ball leg of the series. However, positive feedback from the board and fellow cricketers has made an impact. Pakistan won the ODI series but were beaten in the T20Is. The series will be part of the World Test Championship.

Sri Lankan selectors have picked pacer Kasun Rajitha, in place of the spinner Akila Dananjaya, who was banned for a year due to an illegal bowling action.

The first test will be played in Rawalpindi starting 11th December, while Karachi will be hosting the 2nd test match.

Full squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 1 =

Back to top button