Latest News

Tax directory 2019 released: PM Imran pays Rs9.8m, Shehbaz Rs7.1m, Zardari Rs2,2m and Bilawal Rs0.53m only

The most major taxpayer among the parliamentarians was PTI’s MNA from Karachi Najeeb Haroon

Tax directory 2019Tax directory 2019 released | OyeYeah News

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has released the tax directory of parliamentarians for the year 2019,

As per the details provided by the FBR, only 80 senators and 312 members of the National Assembly have submitted their tax returns.

The tax directory offers details on 80 Senators, 312 MNAs, 44 Balochistan Assembly members, 91 KP Assembly members, 327 Punjab Assembly members, and 149 Sindh Assembly members.

Prime Minister Imran Khan’s income is Rs44.5 million in 2018 and he has paid an income tax of Rs9.8 million.

The data reveals that the prime minister received Rs38.9 million from normal income (business income, salary, dividends) and Rs2.28 million from presumptive income (rental income, profit on debt, exports). He also received Rs2.36 million from agricultural income.

The most major taxpayer among the parliamentarians was PTI’s MNA from Karachi Najeeb Haroon, who paid Rs140.7 million in income tax.

As per the FBR, Asif Ali Zardari has an income of more than Rs 280 million. He paid Rs2.2 million and his son Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s total income is Rs 38 million and he has submitted a tax of Rs0.53 million.

Punjab Chief Minister Usman Bazdar has paid only Rs 2,000 tax while Senator Yousaf Raza Gilani paid zero amount.

Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam (F) Senator Muhammad Talha Mahmood paid Rs32.28 million in income tax.

Leader of the opposition in the National Assembly, Shehbaz Sharif paid nearly Rs9.73 million in tax in 2018 but the figure came down to around Rs8.24 million in 2019.

Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari had paid an income tax of nearly Rs300,000 in 2018 but the payment went up to Rs535,000 in 2019.

Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin, who was a member of the economic and finance committee in 2019, paid Rs26.6 million as income tax.

Law Minister Farogh Naseem paid Rs4.2 million while Minister of Science and Technology Shibli Faraz paid Rs900,000.

National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser paid an income tax of Rs0.55 million.

Asad Umar paid an income tax of Rs4.2 million.

Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry paid an income tax of Rs0.13 million.

Senator Talha Mahmood has paid tax of Rs32.28 million.

 Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi paid a tax of Rs851,955.

MQM’s senator Faisal Subzwari paid Rs2,000 in income tax while Senator Khalida Ateeb paid just Rs315 rupees as income tax.

The Federal Minister Murad Saeed paid Rs86,606, Minister of State Farrukh Habib Rs4,05,477, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Rs4.8 million in income tax.

Leader of the Opposition in Punjab Assembly Hamza Shehbaz Sharif paid Rs8.7 million in 2018 but the figure slumped to Rs7.1 million in 2019.


the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.