Sports News

Australia register series win in Pakistan after 24 years

The first two Tests in the series were drawn.

Australia register series winAustralia register series win in Pakistan | OyeYeah News

Australia register series win in Pakistan after 24 years!

On the fifth and final day of the Lahore test,  Australian off-spinner Nathan Lyon took five wickets to help his team beat Pakistan by 115 runs and clinch the three-match series 1-0 on Friday.

Layon bagged the prized wickets of Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, and Babar Azam to end the home team’s resistance and finished with figures of 5-83 in Pakistan’s second innings.

Fast bowler Pat Cummins picked up three wickets as Pakistan folded for 235 on the final day of the Test match at the Gaddafi Stadium.

Pakistan failed to impress with the bat chasing a target of 351 in the final innings.

The first two Tests in the series were drawn.

Score Card:

Australia First Innings:

David Warner lbw b Shaheen Shah Afridi713131053.84
Usman Khawaja c Babar Azam b Sajid Khan912193269141.55
Marnus Labuschagne c †Mohammad Rizwan b Shaheen Shah Afridi025000.00
Steven Smith lbw b Naseem Shah591692306034.91
Travis Head c †Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah26701054037.14
Cameron Green  b Naseem Shah791632259048.46
Alex Careylbw b Nauman Ali671051757063.80
Mitchell Starc c Nauman Ali b Shaheen Shah Afridi1333542039.39
Pat Cummins (c)not out1125521044.00
Nathan Lyon  b Naseem Shah43610133.33
Mitchell Swepson  b Shaheen Shah Afridi971420128.57
Extras(b 13, lb 4, nb 8)25 
TOTAL(133.3 Ov, RR: 2.92)391 
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (David Warner, 2.3 ov), 2-8 (Marnus Labuschagne, 2.5 ov), 3-146 (Steven Smith, 56.2 ov), 4-187 (Usman Khawaja, 74.1 ov), 5-206 (Travis Head, 80.6 ov), 6-341 (Alex Carey, 119.6 ov), 7-353 (Cameron Green, 124.5 ov), 8-369 (Mitchell Starc, 129.6 ov), 9-374 (Nathan Lyon, 130.6 ov), 10-391 (Mitchell Swepson, 133.3 ov)


Shaheen Shah Afridi24.337943.2200
Hasan Ali2056103.0503
Naseem Shah31135841.8702
Nauman Ali2447713.2003
Sajid Khan3349712.9300
Babar Azam10202.0000

Pakistan’s First Innings:

Abdullah Shafique c †Carey b Lyon8122831711035.52
Imam-ul-Haq lbw b Cummins1141542026.82
Azhar Ali c & b Cummins782083297137.50
Babar Azam (c)lbw b Starc671312186151.14
Fawad Alam  b Starc1356851023.21
Mohammad Rizwan b Starc11424007.14
Sajid Khan  b Cummins617191035.29
Nauman Ali lbw b Cummins0312000.00
Hasan Ali c Smith b Cummins045000.00
Shaheen Shah Afridi not out018000.00
Naseem Shah  b Starc035000.00
Extras(b 5, nb 6)11 
TOTAL(116.4 Ov, RR: 2.29)268 
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Imam-ul-Haq, 12.1 ov), 2-170 (Abdullah Shafique, 71.2 ov), 3-214 (Azhar Ali, 86.4 ov), 4-248 (Fawad Alam, 106.3 ov), 5-256 (Mohammad Rizwan, 110.2 ov), 6-264 (Sajid Khan, 113.4 ov), 7-268 (Nauman Ali, 115.1 ov), 8-268 (Hasan Ali, 115.5 ov), 9-268 (Babar Azam, 116.1 ov), 10-268 (Naseem Shah, 116.4 ov)
Mitchell Starc20.463341.5900
Pat Cummins2485652.3303
Cameron Green1443702.6402
Nathan Lyon40109512.3700
Mitchell Swepson1824202.3301


Australia Second Innings:
Usman Khawaja not out1041782728058.42
David Warner  b Shaheen Shah Afridi51911256156.04
Marnus Labuschagne c Sajid Khan b Nauman Ali3658906062.06
Steven Smith c †Mohammad Rizwan b Naseem Shah1727531062.96
Travis Head not out117711157.14
Extras(b 5, lb 2, nb 1)8 
TOTAL(60 Ov, RR: 3.78)227/3d 
Did not bat: Cameron Green, Alex Carey †, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Nathan Lyon 
Fall of wickets: 1-96 (David Warner, 28.1 ov), 2-161 (Marnus Labuschagne, 47.3 ov), 3-216 (Steven Smith, 58.5 ov
Shaheen Shah Afridi1124514.0900
Naseem Shah1232311.9101
Hasan Ali1133703.3600
Sajid Khan1616003.7500
Nauman Ali
Pakistan Second INNINGS (target: 351 runs)
Abdullah Shafique c †Carey b Green27801353133.75
Imam-ul-Haq c Labuschagne b Lyon701992755035.17
Azhar Ali c Smith b Lyon1747752036.17
Babar Azam (c)c Smith b Lyon551041676052.88
Fawad Alam lbw b Cummins1120371055.00
Mohammad Rizwanlbw b Cummins068000.00
Sajid Khan c Khawaja b Starc2147584044.68
Nauman Ali not out12044005.00
Hasan Ali  b Lyon1317191176.47
Shaheen Shah Afridi c Swepson b Lyon57101071.42
Naseem Shah  b Cummins17110014.28
Extras(b 8, lb 4, nb 1, w 1)14 
TOTAL(92.1 Ov, RR: 2.54)235 
Fall of wickets: 1-77 (Abdullah Shafique, 30.5 ov), 2-105 (Azhar Ali, 45.2 ov), 3-142 (Imam-ul-Haq, 61.2 ov), 4-165 (Fawad Alam, 68.4 ov), 5-167 (Mohammad Rizwan, 70.3 ov), 6-213 (Babar Azam, 83.3 ov), 7-213 (Sajid Khan, 84.1 ov), 8-226 (Hasan Ali, 87.6 ov), 9-232 (Shaheen Shah Afridi, 89.3 ov), 10-235 (Naseem Shah, 92.1 ov)
Mitchell Starc1765313.1100
Pat Cummins15.162331.5100
Nathan Lyon3788352.2400
Mitchell Swepson1013603.6000
Cameron Green1141811.6311
Marnus Labuschagne2 

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.