Sports News

Babar Azam named captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2022

While Pakistan's Haris Rauf and Mohammad Rizwan made it to the ICC T20I squad of the year 2022.

Babar Azam has been named captain of the ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2022!

The International Cricket Council (ICC) earlier this week revealed the Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022, with Pakistan star batter Babar Azam as the team captain.

ICC has included cricketers in the year 2022 team based on their performance in all three departments of the game.

Babar Azam, 28, who played nine matches in 2022, registered eight scores of more than fifty. He finished the year with 679 runs at a mammoth average of 84.87

“Pakistan captain Babar Azam once again showed his prowess in the 50-over format, displaying once again why he has ruled the roost at the top of the ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings since July 2021,” the ICC said.

“It was a memorable year for Babar as captain of the Pakistan ODI team, winning three series out of three. Pakistan was unstoppable in the ODI format, losing just one match (against Australia) out of nine. His leadership skills mean that he leads the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022,” it added.

The other players in the team include Australia’s Adam Zampa, West Indies’ Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph, India’s Shreyas Iyer and Mohammad Siraj, New Zealand’s Tom Latham and Trent Boult and Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2022

Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan), Travis Head (Australia), Shai Hope (Barbados), Shreyas Iyer (India), Tom Latham (WC) (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh), Alzarri Joseph (West Indies), Mohammed Siraj (India), Trent Boult (New Zealand) and Adam Zampa (Australia).

However, Babar Azam was not part of the T20I team.

While Pakistan’s Haris Rauf and Mohammad Rizwan made it to the ICC T20I squad of the year 2022.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of 2022

Jos Buttler (c) (England), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Virat Kohli (India), Suryakumar Yadav (India), Glenn Phillips (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe). Hardik Pandya (India), Sam Curran (England), Hardik Pandya (India), Wahindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Haris Rauf (Pakistan), and Josh Little (Ireland).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − 6 =

Back to top button