Events and SeminarsSports News

Laureus World Sports Awards 2019

Novak Djokovic named World Sportsman of the Year.


The Laureus World Sports Awards were held in Monaco on Monday 18 February 2019, where the cream of global sport gathered to honour the greatest sporting achievements of 2018 and celebrate the power of sport to change the world.

Sport’s premier global awards ceremony celebrated the best of 2018 across eight individual and team categories, with the winners collecting a prized Laureus Statuette.

In addition, celebrating sporting excellence, these Awards provide a global platform for supporting the Laureus Sport for Good movement, by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives around the world.

Novak Djokovic, 31-year old Serb tennis player was awarded the Sportsman of the Year award after claiming victory at both the US Open and Wimbledon.

He has won the award for a fourth time beating the likes of France’s World Cup winner Kylian Mbappe and NBA superstar LeBron James

American gymnast Simone Biles, 21, was named Sportswoman of the Year after winning four gold medals, one silver, and one bronze at the 2018 World Championships. This is her second consecutive award.

Japan’s Osaka won her first Grand Slam title at the US Open last year, then won the Australian Open last month. For her efforts, she was awarded the World Breakthrough of the Year award.

Golfer Tiger Woods won the Comeback award. America’s 14-time major winner Woods won the season-ending Tour Championship by two shots to record his first win in five years following spinal fusion surgery.

Slovakian skier Henrieta Farkasova and guide Natalia Subrtova won the Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award after winning four gold medals at the 2018 Winter Paralympics.

Football World Cup winners France won Team of the Year award.

French team manager Didier Deschamps, who also captained France to the 1998 World Cup triumph, accepted the award with some members of his backroom staff.

Kenyan athlete Eliud Kipchoge received the Exceptional Achievement Award after taking 78 seconds off the world marathon record with his victory in Berlin.

American snowboarder Chloe Kim was given the Action Sportsperson of the Year Award,

Former Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

American skier Lindsey Vonn won the Spirit of Sports Award.

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Leave a Reply