Sports News

Mohammad Abbas only Pakistani in ICC’s teams of the year

Pakistani medium pacer Mohammad Abbas has been named in the International Cricket Council’s Test Team of the Year. No Pakistani could make it to the ODI men’s team of the year. Virat Kohli has been placed as captain of both the side.

Abbas, who was Pakistan’s star performer in test matches picked up 38 wickets at a meagre average of 13.76. There were three five wicket hauls and a 10 wicket haul.


Champion batsman, Virat Kohli was named captained for both formats. He cleaned swept all three honours winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year and ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year.

Virat’s compatriot Rishab Pant won the emerging cricketer of the year for his performances against Australia and England. 

Kumar Dharmasena won the David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year 2018,  Calum Macleod was named the the ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year 2018.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen − 8 =

Back to top button