Latest NewsSports News

Mohammad Hafeez and Shabzada Farhan in as Ahmed Shehzad exits Sarfaraz’s T20 Squad

Mohmmad Amir selected for both formats


Pakistan has opted to send a very strong side to Zimbabwe for the tri series against Australia and Zimbabwe and the subsequent ODI series. It remains to seen how competitive the series, especially the One day series will be considering that top Zimbabwean cricketers have either opted out or are dropped for demanding their salaries. Australia, will be coming of a drubbing in the ODI series against arch rivals England. The tri series will commence from the 1st of July while ODIs will start from 13th.

As for Pakistan the ODI squad, marks a surprise return to ODI cricket for test specialist Yasir Shah. The spinner has been out for some time now and perhaps the idea behind it is to allow him game time before more important series follow. Junaid Khan, also makes a comeback. He has been out with a knee injury for some time. Meanwhile, Mohammad Hafeez makes both the ODI and the T20 side after being cleared for bowling by the ICC. Pakistan will benefit from the return of the experienced trio. Asif Ali’s hitting prowess has handed him a spot in the One Day side too and seems like a handy selection with an eye on the future. Babar Azam has been included conditionally. He will get an update on his injury, before a final decision is taken. Amir Yameen would consider himself unlucky to be dropped after performing decently against New Zealand.

Top Players Missing From Zimbabwe’s Sqaud For Tri Series With Pakistan

As for the T20 side, Ahmed Shehzad has not made the side, amid reports that he has tested positive for marijuana. Shabzada Farhan, the explosive opener has been given a chance after impressing one and all in domestic cricket and PSL. Left arm pacer Ruman Raaes, and left arm dart bowler Imad Wasim are yet to recover from their long term injuries. While, Mohammad Amir has been selected in both squads, turning down his request of rest.

T-20 squad: Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmad (Captain – WK), Harris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Muhammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan

ODI Squad: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul Haq, Muhammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Baber Azam (Subject to Fitness), Asif Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain – WK), Muhammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan. Faheem Ashraf, Muhammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Yasir Shah, Hassan Ali, Harris Sohail

the authorAsjad Khan