National T20 Team Northern Review: Well Poised for the Title Defence

With a mix of youth and experience, Northern have a well balanced squad

National T20 reviewNational T20 Team Northern Review - OyeYeah News

Mohammad Amir, Sohail Tanvir, Musa Khan, Haris Rauf, Hammad Azam, Sohail Akthar, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim – you could very well make two bowling attacks from this squad. Captain Imad Wasim won’t be available for the initial few matches. However, there is more than enough cover for him in the squad. Last year, Coach Mohammad Wasim not only won the title but also blooded in some young players. He will reap the benefits of that investment this year.

For example, one would expect Haider Ali to light up the tournament. Rohail Nazir should be the front light keeper-batsman. While the likes of Ali Imran and Lahore Qalandar’s Farzan Raja should also get opportunities to blossom. It will also be quite interesting to see where Shadab Khan, who is likely to captain in a few matches would bat. His progression as a top 6 batsman who can bowl four overs, could really solve quite a few problems for Pakistan.

Among the experienced players, Asif Ali and Sohail Tanvir are both coming of quite a forgetful CPL, and would like to make things right. Umar Amin and Qalandar’s captain Sohail Akhtar would like to get in their rhythm before the HBLPSL matches.

Read More: National T20 Team Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Review: Pre Tournament Favourites

Even in their 2nd eleven, there are some exciting names like Nasir Nawaz, Salman Irshad, Sarmad Bhatti and Taimur Sultan. Northern like last year would fight for every run and play positive cricket. Don’t be surprised if you see Imad Wasim holding the trophy at the end of the tournament

Balochistan 1st 11 Squad: Imad Wasim (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Ali Imran, Asif Ali, Farzan Raja, Haider Ali, Hammad Azam, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper), Sohail Akhtar, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Amin, and Zeeshan Malik

Support Staff:  Afaq Rahim (manager), Mohammad Wasim (head coach), Mohammad Masroor (assistant coach), Ali Sufyan (physio), Mohammad Aslam (trainer), and Mohammad Ahsan Ehsan (analyst)

the authorAsjad Khan