Sports News

Pak vs Ban First Test: Pakistan thrash Bangladesh by 8 wickets

Bangladesh has failed to defeat Pakistan in any of their 10 previous encounters. 

pak vs banPakistan thrash Bangladesh by 8 wickets | OyeYeah News

Pakistan thrashed Bangladesh by 8 wickets on the final day of the first Test in Chittagong.

Bangladesh had set a target of 202, the visitors reached 109-0 at stumps on Monday as the openers Abid Ali and Abdullah Shafique each hit an unbeaten fifty to put Pakistan in a commanding position and need only 93 runs on the final day on Tuesday.

Ali was batting on 56 at the end of the day’s play, adding to his first-innings score of 133, while debutant Shafique was unbeaten on 53.

Bangladesh’s spin magician Taijul Islam sent Abid Ali back to the pavilion by bowling him lbw on 91 runs while Abdullah Shafique was dismissed the same way by Mehidy Hasan on 73.

However, a stable partnership between Azhar Ali, who scored 24, and skipper Babar Azam, who made 13, ensured the Pakistan team’s victory.

Check out Bangladesh vs Pakistan first Test scoreboard:

The scoreboard at stumps on the fourth day of the first Test between Bangladesh and Pakistan at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Monday:

Bangladesh first innings (Liton Das 114, Mushfiqur Rahim 91; Hasan Ali 5-51)

Pakistan first innings (Abid Ali 133, Taijul Islam 7-116 )

Bangladesh second innings (overnight 39-4)

Shadman Islam lbw b Shaheen          1

Saif Hasan c and b Shaheen         18

Najmul Hossain c Shafique b Shaheen   0

Mominul Haque c Azhar b Hasan         0

Mushfiqur Rahim b Hasan            16

Yasir Ali retired hurt             36

Liton Das lbw Afridi              59

Mehidy Hasan lbw b Sajid           11

Nurul Hasan c Faheem b Sajid        15

Taijul Islam st Rizwan b Sajid Khan   0

Abu Jayedc Rizwan b Afridi          0

Ebadot Hossain not out             0

Extras (b1)                      1

Total (all out; 56.2 overs)        157

Fall of Wickets: 1-14 (Shadman), 2-14 (Najmul), 3-15 (Mominul), 4-25 (Shadman), 5-43 (Mushfiqur), 6-115 (Mehidy), 7-153 (Nurul), 8-157 (Liton) , 9-157 (Jayed), 10-157 (Taijul)

Bowling: Shaheen 15-8-32-5, Hasan 11-0-52-2, Faheem 8-3-16-0,  Nauman 9-3-23-0, Sajid 13.2-1-33-3

Pakistan second innings

Abid Ali not out                 56

Abdullah Shafique  not out          53

Extras                          0

Total (no wickets, 33 overs)       109

To bat: Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (c), Fawad Alam, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Rizwan, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Sajid Khan  

Bowling: Taijul 16-3-37-0,  Ebadot 5-1-23-0, Mehidy 10-2-36-0, Jayed 2-0-13-0

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.