Sports News

PSL 2021 Draft: Six franchises finalised squads for sixth edition

The six HBL Pakistan Super League will be played in Karachi and Lahore from 20 February to 22 March 2021.

Six franchises finalisedSix franchises finalised squads for sixth edition - OyeYeah News

The six franchises of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) finalized the drafting process for the sixth edition on Sunday in Lahore.

Each of the franchises successfully formed their teams for the sixth edition of the T20 competition.

Karachi Kings had retained Babar Azam and Mohammad Amir and traded Colin Ingram from Islamabad United in the Platinum Category.

West Indies’ batsman Chris Gayle was drafted by Quetta Gladiators. While Star fast-bowler Hasan Ali joined Islamabad United in one of the marquee signings of the day.

Afghanistan’s star leg-spinner Rashid Khan joined Lahore Qalandars’ as their star signing of the day.

Australia’s batsman Chris Lynn was signed by Multan Sultans for the PSL’s 2021 edition.

Here are category wise players details:

Platinum Category:

all-rounder Hasan Ali, who played the first five seasons for Peshawar Zalmi, was picked up by Islamabad United as a wildcard pick, Australia’s Chris Lynn moved from Lahore Qalandars to Multan Sultans, world’s No.1 T20I bowler Rashid Khan of Afghanistan was scooped by Lahore Qalandars, Quetta Gladiators went strong and snapped up England’s explosive Tom Banton and Universe Boss, Chris Gayle, while David Miller was snapped by Peshawar Zalmi as the left-hander is now set to become the latest South African to make his HBL Pakistan Super League debut.

Diamond Category:

Karachi Kings opted for two all-rounders – world’s No.1 ranked Mohammad Nabi and Dan Christian of Australia –Peshawar Zalmi strengthened their side by snapping up world’s No.2 ranked T20I bowler Mujeeb Ur Rehman of Afghanistan and then added Guyana’s all-rounder Sherfane Rutherford to their roster, while Islamabad United picked up Somerset all-rounder Lewis Gregory.

Gold Category: 

Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings picked Samit Patel and Chadwick Walton, respectively, Peshawar Zalmi took Amad Butt, Usman Shinwari was relocated from Qalandars to Gladiators, while Islamabad United picked Phil Salt.

Silver Category:

Islamabad United picked Iftikhar Ahmad, Reece Topley and Rohail Nazir; Karachi Kings opted for Danish Aziz, Joe Clarke, Mohammad Ilyas and Zeeshan Malik; Lahore Qalandars snapped up Mohammad Faizan, Tom Abell, Salman Ali Agha and Zeeshan Ashraf; Multan Sultans selected Adam Lyth, Mohammad Rizwan, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaibullah and Sohail Khan; Peshawar Zalmi went for Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Saqib Mahmood, and Umaid Asif, while Quetta Gladiators strengthened their side with Abdul Nasir, Cameron Delport and Qais Ahmed.


The six HBL Pakistan Super League will be played in Karachi and Lahore from 20 February to 22 March 2021.

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.