Sports News

USA wins Women’s World Cup 2019 by beating the Netherlands

The United States Women’s National team has won the world cup 2019, after beating the Netherlands 2-0 in Sunday’s final.

The USWNT has hoisted the trophy for the second consecutive tournament.

Throughout the tournament, the top-ranked U.S. women had taken a lead going into halftime of every match they played.

They had never been held scoreless in the first half. In the finals against the Netherlands, it took an hour of game time before Rapinoe broke the scoreless tie for the U.S. on a penalty kick.

At the 60th minute, a yellow card was awarded to Stefanie van der Gragt for a reckless challenge. After an initial non-call, video replay was checked. After review, the referee awarded a penalty.

At the 61st minute of the game, Megan Rapinoe converted the penalty kick to give the U.S. the lead 1-0. It was her sixth goal, which has put Rapinoe in a three-way tie for the Golden Boot award.

At the 69th minute, the USA scored the second goal taking the score to a decisive 2-0 victory over the Netherlands.

Midfielder Rose Lavelle drove down half the field, dodging between defenders and took her shot at the top of the box. It was Lavelle’s second goal of the tournament.

Twenty-four teams brought skill, character, and passion to this year’s Women’s World Cup.

2019 FIFA World Cup Awards:
Golden Boot Award: Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Silver Boot Award: Alex Morgan (USA)
Golden Glove Award: Sari van Veenendaal (NED)
Golden Ball Award: Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Silver Ball: Lucy Bronze (ENG)
Bronze Ball Award: Rose Lavelle (USA)


USA World Cup fast facts:
• This is the USWNT’s fourth World Cup title: 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019
• Megan Rapinoe is the oldest woman to score in a Women’s World Cup final.
• Along with Germany’s Birgit Prinz (1995, 2003, 2007), Rapinoe is also only the second-ever player to start in three separate World Cup tournaments (2011, 2015, 2019)
• With 26 goals, the U.S. set a record for most goals in a FIFA Women’s World Cup. The previous record was 25, shared by the U.S. and Germany in 1991 and 2003, respectively.
• USWNT head coach Jill Ellis is the first coach to win two FIFA Women’s World Cup titles.
• Ellis is only the second coach — women’s or men’s — to win consecutive World Cup titles. The other was Italy’s Vittorio Pozzo in 1934 and 1938.

Saman Siddiqui

Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × five =

Back to top button