WhatsApp’s announcement that it will be getting new rules, and forcing its users to agree to them has sparked fears. Users are left worried that their personal information is not being kept secret but instead shared with Facebook.
The users, who rely mostly on the messaging app to stay in touch with friends and family as well as business terms are left worried worldwide.
As being reported, users who have already accepted the new terms and conditions, but do not want WhatsApp to share data with Facebook, or other businesses, will be given an additional 30 days to opt-out and delete their account.
According to WhatsApp, when users will delete their WhatsApp account, their undelivered messages are deleted from its servers along with any of the user’s other information as it no longer needs to operate and provide its services.
Concerned users took to Twitter and shared their views with the hashtag #WhatsAppPrivacyPolicy:
I still say pigeons were better. #WhatsAppPrivacyPolicy— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) January 9, 2021
I get lesson from #WhatsAppPrivacyPolicy if you go for money your competitors will get chance no mater whats going on just do good things life will give you a chance like #Telegram #SignalApp pic.twitter.com/EVKuZL56Na— Amy_Abid 🇵🇰 (@amy_sayssss) January 9, 2021
#WhatsAppPrivacyPolicy is mandatory for every whatsapp users except users of 27 countries of European union due to its tougher privacy norms.— CA Ashutosh Soni (@CA_AshutoshSoni) January 9, 2021
Why don’t in India @GoI_MeitY (Information & Broadcasting Ministry) set the same norms like EU. #SignalApp pic.twitter.com/JJ7SM7gT1N