Latest News

ECP suspends memberships of 154 lawmakers including Aamir Liaquat, Ali Zaidi and Chaudhry Fawad Hussain

If the member of assemblies or Senate fails to submit the documents, then the ECP can, under sub-section 3 of Section 137, suspend their membership.

ECP suspensionECP suspends including Aamir Liaquat, Ali Zaidi and Chaudhry Fawad Hussain - OyeYeah News

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday has suspended memberships of 154 federal and provincial assembly members as they failed to submit assets and liabilities statements.

As per the sub-section (1) of Section 137 of the Elections Act 2017, with rule 137 of the Elections Rules 2017, a member of the assembly and Senate is required to submit a copy of his statement of assets and liabilities every year on or before December 31.

From the Senate, ECP has suspended the membership of Musadik Masood Malik, Kamran Michael, and Shamim Afridi.

While 48 members of the National Assembly have been suspended including Chaudhry Fawad Hussain, Ali Zaidi, Amir Liaquat Hussain, Dr. Fehmida Mirza, Mohsin Dawar, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui.

From Punjab, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan is among 52 lawmakers suspended, while Nasir Hussain Shah Rizvi and 18 others have been debarred from the Sindh Assembly.

However, the membership of the lawmakers will be reinstated once the assets and liabilities statements are submitted. 

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.