Latest News

Sindh cabinet agrees for creation of new district in Karachi

The new district will comprise Site, Baldia, Harbour and Maripur sub-divisions

Karachi new district CM Murad Ali Shah suggested the name of south district as ‘District Karachi’ - OyeYeah News

A new district in Keamari area has been approved by the Sindh cabinet on Thursday, the creation will be done by bifurcating Karachi’s District West, Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah’s spokesperson said.

According to the spokesperson, the proposed new district in the metropolis will comprise Site, Baldia, Harbour and Maripur sub-divisions.

Currently, Karachi Division comprises six districts, that included South, East, West, Malir, Korangi and Central. In 2013, the PPP government created the Korangi District to make the port city “manageable”.

Population-wise, the city’s west district is the largest one in Sindh. It has a population of 3,914,757.

Chief Minsiter, Murad Ali Shah during the meeting suggested the name of south district as ‘District Karachi’ and added that other districts be named after the popular areas of the metropolis.

The CM spokersperson further said that a few ministers have also recommended division of Khairpur into two districts as well.

He said that the Sindh cabinet also approved the Trust Act. The cabinet also discussed the measures against money laundering in the law.

Meanwhile, MQM-P leader Faisal Sabzwari said that his party will challenge the decision of a new district in the court.

“Lahore, Multan and other big cities are based on one district,” he said, adding that the PPP is trying to impose its “fake mandate” in Karachi.

He alleged that the ruling PPP of continuing the enmity towards the city.

The PTI leader Khurram Sher Zaman said that his party has also rejected the provincial government’s stance.

the authorSamra Mazhar

Leave a Reply