Sports News

Habib Bank crowned Quaid e Azam Trophy Champions

Umer Akmal named man of the final


PSL sponsors, Habib Bank Limited have won the country’s premier first class tournament of the country. On the 5th day, defending champions SNGPL pushed hard for victory but the batting line up of Habib Bank just about survived before the umpires called of the game for bad light. Habib Bank last won the Quaid e Azam Trophy in 2010-11 season.

On the final day, SNGPL pushed on from their overnight score. Captain Misbah ul Haq firing a quick 44, while Bilawal Bhatti smashing 30 off 11 balls. They declared at 430 for 7, which left Habib Bank needing 263 runs to win or bat out 90 overs to guarantee them a title thanks to 1st innings lead.

Abid Ali, who must be disappointed after not receiving a call up for the South African tour, missed out. Bilawal Bhatti picked up three wickets, as pressure started to build on HBL. However, Umer Akmal scored a solid 52 following his hundred in the 1st innings. Along with other contributors, HBL were able to bat out 78 overs. Akmal, got the man of the match.

Habib Bank captain Imran Farhat took the trophy. Misbah ul Haq, who had argued with the umpires about their decision to take the players off the field to due to bad light gave the ceremony a miss in protest.

the authorAsjad Khan

Leave a Reply

fourteen − 3 =