ICC appoints match officials for Pak-Sri Lanka series

David Boon has been named match referee.


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has appointed its match officials for Pakistan’s home series against Sri Lanka to be played in Karachi and Lahore from September 27 to October 9.

Former Australian cricketer David Boon has been appointed as the ICC match referee, while two ICC Elite Panel Umpires, namely Michael Gough and Joel Wilson are appointed for the ODI series.

Michael Gough visited Karachi earlier this year for HBL Pakistan Super League 2019.

Read More : Iftikhar, Rizwan & Nawaz named in ODI Squad to face Sri Lanka

Boon, 58, has played 107 Tests and 181 ODIs for Australia from 1984 to 1996 and has been on the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees since 2011.

As an ICC official, Boon he has refereed in 135 ODIs and 51 T20Is.

Furthermore, Aleem Dar, also from the elite panel, has been named by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) as the home umpire for the third ODI as well as all the three T20Is to be played in Lahore on October 5, 7 and 9.
Pakistan’s Ahsan Raza, Shozab Raza, and Asif Yaqoob will also officiate during the series.

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.