Sports News

ICC World Cup 2019: Australia and India announces their squads

Pakistan will announce its 15-player squad on April 18 at 5:30pm.


As the much-anticipated event of the cricket world nears, cricketing nations are announcing their squads for the ICC World Cup 2019.

Australian squad for the world cup has been announced which includes, ball-tamperers Steve Smith and David Warner but there was no room for Josh Hazlewood or Peter Handscomb.

It is the first call-up for the former captain and his deputy since “sandpaper gate” scandal in Cape Town that rocked cricket.

Australian chief selector Trevor Hohns, said, “We have been extremely pleased with how the ODI squad has been building over the past six months, including the recent series wins in India and against Pakistan in the UAE, Steve Smith and David Warner come back into the squad. Both are world-class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL.”

Australia World Cup squad includes: Aaron Finch (capt), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

India squad for World Cup 2019 was announced followed by a meeting between the five-man national selection committee led by MSK Prasad, India captain Virat Kohli and chief coach Ravi Shastri at the BCCI Cricket Centre in Mumbai. The decision was made for Kohli to lead India; while Karthik is a surprise inclusion.

Indian 15-member squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami

New Zealand was the first team to announce their world cup squad, opting for experience in a 15-man squad named on April 2nd, with rookie Tom Blundell´s inclusion as back-up wicketkeeper the only real surprise.

The New Zealand World Cup squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Tom Blundell, Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Pakistan will announce its 15-player squad on April 18 at 5:30pm. The 15-player squad will be chosen from a list of 23 probable players, who will undergo fitness tests and participate in training sessions at the Gaddafi Stadium from April 13 to 17.

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Leave a Reply