Sports News

Pakistan vs New Zealand first T20 clash abandoned amid heavy rain in Rawalpindi

Umpires Ahsan Raza and Aleem Dar announced a five-over-a-side game at 10:10 pm (9:10 GMT).

Pakistan vs New Zealand’s first T20 clash was called off amid rain on Thursday.

Heavy rain caused the first Twenty20 international being played at the Rawalpindi cricket stadium to be abandoned after just two deliveries.

New Zealand skipper Michael Bracewell won the toss and opted to bat but no action was possible for two-and-a-half hours.

The toss had also been delayed by 30 minutes.

Umpires Ahsan Raza and Aleem Dar announced a five-over-a-side game at 10:10 pm (9:10 GMT).

Pakistan pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi conceded two leg-byes to debutant Tim Robinson off the first ball before bowling the batsman with a sharp delivery of the next.

The rain interrupted Pakistan fielders’ celebrations to get the first wicket, leading to the abandonment of the match.

It was Shaheen’s 14th first over wicket of the career.

Earlier, the players left the field just before Shaheen was on his mark to deliver the first ball of the match.

Playing XIs:


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Usman Khan, Abrar Ahmed, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (captain), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Aleem Dar (PAK) Tv umpire: Faisal Afridi (PAK) Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


Saman Siddiqui

I am a freelance journalist, holding a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and an MS in Peace and Conflict Studies, associated with the electronic media industry since 2006 in various capacities. Here at OyeYeah, I cover a range of genres, from journalism to fiction to fashion, including reviews, and fact findings. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button