Sports News

PCB announces men’s central contract list 2021-22

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday has announced the men’s central contract list 2021-22 following the Governing Board’s approval of the 2021-22 fiscal year’s budget.

According to the PCB’s announcement, Hasan Ali and Mohammad Rizwan promoted to category A; Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir offered Emerging Category contracts.

Ont the other hand, PCB has demoted former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed to Category C while Mohammad Hafeez has been ignored yet again.

While there has been a 25 percent increase in Category A to C retainers, while Emerging Category retainers increased by 15 percent; match fee across formats equalized.

The 12-month contracts will run from 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2022, the PCB stated.

Men’s central contract list 2021-22  has been reduced from 21 to 20:

Category A – Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B – Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Fawad Alam, Shadab Khan and Yasir Shah

Category C – Abid Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, and Sarfaraz Ahmed

Emerging Category – Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir

In the central contract list, 2021-22, Hasan Ali and Mohammad Rizwan have been offered Category A.

Hasan Ali had missed out on the contract last year due to an injury but following his stellar performance in 2020-21 as well as looking ahead to the 2021-22 season, he has been placed in Category A.

Rizwan has been rewarded for his consistent performance across all formats by moving him from Category B to Category A.

Likewise, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Nawaz, and Nauman Ali have also been offered central contracts in recognition of their contributions and performances in the 2020-21 season.

Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain, who were in the Emerging Category last year, have been promoted to Category C, while youngsters Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir have been placed in Emerging Category.

Players who have missed out on the central contracts include Asad Shafiq, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shan Masood, and Usman Shinwari.

However, they remain firmly in the selectors’ plan for the season ahead and have the opportunity to earn contracts for the 2022-23 season, subject to performances during the 2021-22 season.

The contract list was finalized by the panel comprising Director – International Cricket, Zakir Khan, chief selector Muhammad Wasim and Director – High Performance, Nadeem Khan, who also consulted head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam as part of the process.

Prior to its approval by PCB Chairman Mr. Ehsan Mani, the provisional list was then shared with Chief Executive Wasim Khan. 

Saman Siddiqui

Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 × 2 =

Back to top button