Sports News

Pakistan 18-member Test squad for Australia tour announced

Saim Ayub, Khurram Shahzad have revived maiden calls.

Chief selector Wahab Riaz on Monday announced an 18-member Pakistan Test squad for the Australia tour, fulfilling his first assignment after being appointed for the post by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Newly appointed test captain Shan Masood will lead the squad on tour of Australia featuring three matches scheduled from December 14, 2023, to January 7, 2024.

Left-handed opening batter Saim Ayub has earned his maiden call-up to the Test squad after an impressive run in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24.

While Right-arm fast bowler Khurram Shahzad has also been given his maiden Test call-up, after a successful domestic season.

Pace bowling all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, who last appeared in Tests for Pakistan during England’s tour of Pakistan in late 2022, is once again included in the squad.

Left-arm pacer Mir Hamza, who registered 32 wickets at 20.88 in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, and right-arm pacer Mohammad Wasim Jnr are also making their comeback to the squad as well.



Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Pakistan tour of Australia

First Test: December 14-18, Perth Stadium

Second Test: December 26-30, MCG

Third Test: January 3-7, SCG


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + 2 =

Back to top button