Sports News

#PSL6Final: Underdogs Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs claiming maiden title

MS's Shahnawaz Dahani finishes PSL6 as leading wicket taker

Underdogs Multan SultansUnderdogs Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi | OyeYeah News

Underdogs Multan Sultans thrash Peshawar Zalmi by 47 runs claiming their maiden title!

It turned out to be a rather fairy tale ending for the Multan Sultans who started the Abu Dhabi Leg of PSL 6 being at the bottom of the points table.

While the lady luck was in not so much for Peshawar Zalmi – who were in their fourth PSL final and ended up finishing runners-up for the third time.

The Wednesday night final at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium turned into the most spectacular game of PSL history as from the start it wasn’t sure who will lift the trophy.

Zalmi made a blistering start courtesy of Kamran Akmal’s 36 runs on 28 balls. However, getting 56 runs in the last 16 balls proved too much for the last two Zalmi batsmen. And by the end of the innings, Zalmi managed to put just 159 on the scoreboard.

Here are the scorecards from the MS vs PZ final:

Peshawar Zalmi INNINGS (target: 207 runs from 20 overs)


Kamran Akmal † b Imran Khan362851128.57
Hazratullah Zazaic Shan Masood b Muzarabani6501120.00
Jonathan Wellsrun out (Rossouw/Sohail Tanvir)6130046.15
Shoaib Malikc Imran Tahir b Sohail Tanvir482833171.42
Rovman Powellc †Mohammad Rizwan b Muzarabani231421164.28
Sherfane Rutherfordc †Mohammad Rizwan b Imran Tahir181012180.00
Amad Buttc †Mohammad Rizwan b Imran Khan7610116.66
Wahab Riaz (c) b Imran Tahir01000.00
Mohammad Imran b Imran Tahir01000.00
Sameen Gulnot out7111063.63
Mohammad Irfannot out05000.00
Extras(nb 2, w 6)8
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.95)159/9
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Hazratullah Zazai, 5.2 ov), 2-42 (Kamran Akmal, 6.1 ov), 3-58 (Jonathan Wells, 9.2 ov), 4-124 (Rovman Powell, 14.1 ov), 5-137 (Shoaib Malik, 15.1 ov), 6-150 (Sherfane Rutherford, 16.3 ov), 7-151 (Wahab Riaz, 16.5 ov), 8-151 (Mohammad Imran, 16.6 ov), 9-151 (Amad Butt, 17.2 ov)
Sohail Tanvir403518.7573100
Imran Khan412726.75152211
Blessing Muzarabani402626.50162201
Shahnawaz Dahani403809.50105120
Imran Tahir403338.2591230


Multan Sultans INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Shan Masood  b Mohammad Imran372960127.58
Mohammad Rizwan (c)†c †Kamran Akmal b Mohammad Imran303021100.00
Sohaib Maqsood not out653563185.71
Rilee Rossouw c Mohammad Irfan b Sameen Gul502153238.09
Johnson Charles lbw b Sameen Gul01000.00
Khushdil Shah not out15502300.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 1, w 6)9
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 10.30)206/4
Did not bat: Sohail Tanvir, Imran Tahir, Blessing Muzarabani, Imran Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Shan Masood, 8.4 ov), 2-83 (Mohammad Rizwan, 10.6 ov), 3-181 (Rilee Rossouw, 18.2 ov), 4-181 (Johnson Charles, 18.3 ov)
Sameen Gul402626.50113020
Mohammad Irfan402706.75113100
Wahab Riaz4052013.0045230
Amad Butt4052013.0053401
Mohammad Imran4047211.7565200


With 20 wickets to his credit, Shahnawaz Dahani finishes PSL6 as leading wicket-taker, he is the only third bowler to take at least 20 wickets in any edition of the Pakistan Super League.

Dahani recieved the best emerging player and the best bowler of the PSL 6 awards.

Sohaib Maqsood at the end of the final was given 3 awards

  • Player of the final 65* runs
  • Player of the tournament (428 runs)
  • The best batsman of the event (428 runs)

the authorSaman Siddiqui
Saman Siddiqui, A freelance journalist with a Master’s Degree in Mass Communication and MS in Peace and Conflict Studies. Associated with the media industry since 2006. Experience in various capacities including Program Host, Researcher, News Producer, Documentary Making, Voice Over, Content Writing Copy Editing, and Blogging, and currently associated with OyeYeah since 2018, working as an Editor.