Sports News

South Africa announce their test squad for test series against Pakistan

Duanne Olivier is in the squad in place of the injured Lungi Ngidi

Cricket South Africa (SCA) has announced a 13-man squad for the Test series against Pakistan. Middle order batsman Zubayr Hamza has been included for the 1st time. A notable inclusion is of pacer Duanne Olivier as a replacement of the injured Lungi Ngidi. There are no surprises as such with the squad.
However, the South Africans will certainly miss Ngidi, who was expected to replace the retired Morne Morkel. The right hander Hamza, has scored heavily in the past couple of seasons and is seen as someone who can fit in the side seamlessly. Playing for Cape Cobras, he scored 828 runs at an average of 69. He was amongst the runs against India A too. Faf du Plessis will continue to lead the side.
The 1st test begins on Boxing Day in Pretoria.
South African squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.


the authorAsjad Khan

Leave a Reply

four × four =